

Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Approach to Reforms of the Institutes of Technology and Polytechnic Subsector

Portfolio Education

On 28 March 2018, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee (SWC):

- noted that in February 2018, SWC invited the Minister of Education (the Minister) to report back in March with an approach to a programme of change for the institutes of technology and polytechnic (ITP) subsector, and for vocational education more generally [SWC-18-MIN-0004];
- 2 **noted** that ITPs are sixteen autonomous providers that operate in a system that does not currently co-ordinate well;
- noted that the Minister is working with ITP Chairs and Chief Executives on serious viability issues for the sector with the intent of gaining a common understanding of how to create a system of strong, modern institutions to meet skills needs across New Zealand;
- 4 **noted** that the options for reform range from more co-ordination between existing providers to significant structural change;
- 5 **noted** that the Minister and the Tertiary Education Commission will continue to work with the sector and other stakeholders over the next six months;
- 6 **noted** that the Minister intends to provide updates on progress to the sector and the public from time to time during this period;
- 7 **noted** that the Minister intends to report back to the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee no later than December 2018 with a proposed way forward, process, and to indicate the direction of any associated policy changes.

Jenny Vickers Committee Secretary

Hard-copy distribution: (see over)

Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters

Hon Kelvin Davis

Hon Grant Robertson

Hon Phil Twyford

Hon Chris Hipkins

Hon Andrew Little

Hon Carmel Sepuloni (Chair)

Hon Dr David Clark

Hon Nanaia Mahuta

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Tracey Martin

Hon Willie Jackson

Hon Aupito William Sio

Jan Logie, MP

Hard-copy distribution:

Minister of Education

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Officials Committee for SWC